80’s Music and Advertising

11 Feb

First of all, I just found out this weekend via Satellite Radio that Manic Monday is not a Cyndi Lauper song. You thought it was a Cyndi song too, didn’t you?? Whatever, yes you did. Anyway, no. It’s by the Bangles! The Bangles, who apparently, also did Walk Like an Egyptian, which I always thought was done by The Pretenders. Evidently my 80’s pop music trivia needs some work. I feel like I owe the Bangle girls an apology for thinking someone else did all their songs. The only song I thought was theirs is We’ve Got the Beat, but I’m sure I’m wrong about that too. <pause for Google search> Yep.

So anyway, enough about the things I thought I knew which have turned out to be wrong, which is a topic we could continue to explore for days. Here’s what I really wanted to tell you:

It turns out that with the acquisition of a DVR system in our home, that we don’t watch commercials at all. Upsides to this: no annoying commercials. Downside: we never know what movies are out because we miss all the trailers.

Anyway, we always thought this was a great thing for the kids because since they see no commercials, we figured we wouldn’t have to deal with them begging for whatever random toy was being shoved down their throats on TV. As it is, if our 4 year old sees even a minute of a toy commercial both of his pupils will literally turn into the shape of a star and his body is transported through time and space to a land where his very existence hinges on ownership of this toy. The next words out of his mouth will be “M..MAMA. MAMA. I Wa..I Ne…CAN I HAVETHAT”

So yeah, we try to keep the commercials at bay, but lately I feel like maybe that’s backfiring. For the last few weeks we’ve been asking him what he wants for his birthday next month. Here’s how one conversation went:

 

DADDY: So Wil, have you been thinking about what you want for your birthday?

WILSON: Yeah, so you know that part in Star Wars where Darth Maul kills Yoda?

DADDY: That never happened. Yoda died of natural causes.

WILSON: Oh yeah. Well I want that for my birthday.

-or-

WILSON (watching Spiderman): Mama, look at Spiderman climbing up the side of that building!

ME: Oh yeah, cool!

WILSON: I want that for my birthday.

 

Poor kid. What have we done? The other day his grandma asked him what he wants for his birthday and he went into great (yet somehow still very much vague) detail about some transformers toy they have in the childcare area at the gym. I have never seen this toy.

So we’re all very much confused on exactly what to get this child for his birthday next month. I’m thinking, to make up for the fact that we can’t get him the act of Darth Maul killing Yoda, we’re going to have to go big. Like, new bike, big. Maybe he’ll be so excited by it that he won’t realize he didn’t receive the power to climb the side of a building?

 

Leave a Reply

Jane Started It!

Classic characters with a contemporary twist

mommywiferunner

my quest to establish the new "me"

Daily Crave

Daily Crave By Chef Natalie Lewis

The Good Greatsby

Paul Johnson's comedy blog: I didn't get into comedy to be rich or famous. All I've ever wanted was to be loved...by somebody rich and famous.

Simon C. Holland

some things are awesome, some not so much.

