Image

Sandwich Infidelity

22 Jun

I love, love, love Firehouse Subs. Just wanted to get that out there. Oddly, I used to really dislike it. When I lived in Tallahassee for college we would occasionally end up there for meals and I would for some reason, always get the meatball sub. I love a good meatball sub, but in my opinion Firehouse does a bad meatball sub. I think it might be because I like a generous helping of marinara sauce, and tend to get stabby if I’m jipped in that area. A dry meatball sub is just an insult. But, I kept trying each time, thinking this would be the time I would get an acceptable meatball sub. It never happened. Anyway, with the help of an old co-worker who took me to Firehouse one day insisting she had the perfect sub for me, I finally found it. The Italian, with chopped pickles. Ohh it’s so good. You have to insist on the chopped pickles; it isn’t the same without them. Beware, they cost an additional 60 cents. I’ve been getting this little gem for about 8 years or so, and it’s never a disappointment.

So…all this to say, I’m feeling a little guilty. Last weekend I cheated on my Italian w/ pickles. I ate the King’s Hawaiian Pork/Slaw deal. I was weak.

20120622-141831.jpg

I won’t deny…it was good. The Hawaiian roll and the slaw were amazing. The pork could have been leaner and more shredded, but that’s probably my guilt talking. Was it worth the over 1000 calories and 63 grams of fat for this sandwich alone? Maybe not. I’ll be happily running back to my Pickle Italian, which I’ll admit is not much better in terms of the bad stuff. But it’s oh so worth it.

2 Responses to “Sandwich Infidelity”

  1. Robin Wilson (@RobinL711) June 28, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    wow! thanks alot for the calorie info…now I won’t be able to order it again in good conscience LOL I was trying to pretend it didn’t have any! Anyway, good thing it’s only a limited time offer

    • Stefanie June 28, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Ha, Sorry!! But honestly, good luck eating out anywhere for less than that. Unless you’re eating a 6 inch subway, you’re blowing 1000 calories for sure!

Leave a Reply

Jane Started It!

Classic characters with a contemporary twist

mommywiferunner

my quest to establish the new "me"

Daily Crave

Daily Crave By Chef Natalie Lewis

The Good Greatsby

Paul Johnson's comedy blog: I didn't get into comedy to be rich or famous. All I've ever wanted was to be loved...by somebody rich and famous.

Simon C. Holland

some things are awesome, some not so much.

